Charting a New Course

It’s been a long time since I’ve written anything in this space and it’s been even longer since I’ve felt compelled to write something of importance.  I’ve come to realize that the act of putting my thoughts down is a good practice for me.  The blank white space the page provides allows me to throw all of my ideas and thoughts down and provides organization and structure to them.  Time has a way of crippling even the fittest of athletes, and it does the same to the writing process.  You spend enough  time away from it, and the mental muscles it takes to write deteriorate and atrophy.  Admittedly, keeping up a blog and writing became more of a chore for me as I always felt the need to come up with a new idea to get eyes on the page and keep the blog fresh and relevant…whatever that means.  I’ve since come to realize that misses the point of a blog, this blog anyways.

Epic Epoch was always about me finding my place in education and appreciating this very interesting period where the nexus of technology, pedagogy, and leadership are poised to change educational practices and provide more equitable education to kids than ever before.  Along the way I got a little sidetracked with thinking more about devices than about more important things like devices and how to use them.  I hope to get back to a place where I’m focusing more on figuring what I believe and analyzing my thoughts and experiences along the way.  That’s not to say I’ll never write a post about iPads, or Google Apps, or anything other type of technology, but it’s not the focus, nor should it be.

Today I began a new chapter of my life.  I joined a new district in an entirely new role; Director of Digital Curriculum.  To say that I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am for this role would be inaccurate.  I can tell you.  I’m very excited.  The intent of this position is not to decide what type of technology should be adopted, but once it’s adopted, analyze how it should be used. What do kids need and how can technology and different types of pedagogy be coupled with effective curriculum to move all kids?  That’s what’s most exciting to me.

Anyways.

We’ll talk again, soon I hope.

 

Leave a Reply

