Using Google Docs for Peer Editing

I’ve recently posted on how I share a Google Doc with students.  One of my goals using Google Docs with students is for them to become better editors of each others work.  With that in mind, I’ve taught my students a few simple ways to edit each others works in Google Docs.

Over time, I’d like my students to become purveyors of their own work more and more.  The idea (and I’m sure it’s not mine) is for the students to be able to critically analyze what each other written work to improve their own writing.

So far, I think it’s an effective tool.  The catch is, that the feedback needs to be authentic and not just fluff.  Of course, this is where teaching instruction comes into play.

One thought on “Using Google Docs for Peer Editing

Leave a Reply

