Google Wave Shuts Down, Relegated to Wave Pool at Six Flags

Bodhi might catch his final wave, it just won't be with Google

It’s officially the end of an era.  A very short, very wet, very tumultuous era.  Google has drained the pool on Wave (horrible pun intended) and is ceasing and desisting in supporting it into the future.  To be honest, I’m not all that surprised.  I did think Wave had some potential, but amongst every other tool I use on a regular basis, it didn’t seem to have a real place in a practical way.  Couple that with the fact that not many people I know actually had an understanding on what Wave actually was or how to use it in a practical way.

As a teacher, I never really got a chance to use it in the classroom, so it won’t really be missed there.  There are plenty of other collaborative tools I can and do use with my students, so the omission of Wave won’t leave a gaping hole in my heart.  It is nice to read, however, that Google will extend the technology for use in other Google projects.  Hopefully some of the good parts of Wave will make it into apps I already use, like Docs.

Vaya con Dios Wave.  Vaya con Dios.

2 thoughts on “Google Wave Shuts Down, Relegated to Wave Pool at Six Flags

  1. That’s it. If you have time to blog 3 times in 3 days, I am sending out the email to start Inspire Essentials.

Leave a Reply

